Is The Isla Contoy Entrance Fee Included In The Tour?
Whether Isla Contoy's entrance fee is bundled into tour prices: the official MXN 225 CONANP fee, the US$20 or US$10 dock and park fee collected on site, and the tours that state no fee line at all.
Usually not: 10 of the 14 bookable Isla Contoy day trips state a fee charged on site, while four list no fee line at all. Nine listings state a US$20 per person government, dock or reef fee paid on the day, one states US$10, and the official park fee is a separate matter entirely: MXN 225 per person per day, set by CONANP, the national park commission. Separately, the Beach Lunch Day by Exciting Travel Holidays, from $199 per person, is one of the listings that states its US$20 fee line plainly, and the big Snorkel Day, 8 Hours by Ocean Tours Mexico does the same. Beyond the fees you will pay at the dock, the park also has strict rules about what you can bring, and the guide to Isla Contoy's sunscreen ban spells out the official policy before you pack.
The short version is that "included" is the wrong question, because there are two different fees wearing similar hats. One is the official access fee collected under Mexican law at the national park. The other is the on-site line many operators write into their own listings, usually called a government fee, dock tax or reef tax, quoted in US dollars and paid in cash at the marina. Operators bundle the operational side of park access into that line; CONANP publishes its own figure in pesos and publishes no dollar amount at all.

We compared the listings on this site line by line, and the split is clean enough to plan around. If you want the full cost picture for the whole day, the companion piece on what a Contoy day trip costs breaks down the ticket prices; this article stays on the fee itself, where it comes from, and what each listing actually says.
What Is The Official Park Fee For Isla Contoy?
The official fee is MXN 225 per person per day, set by CONANP, the commission that runs Isla Contoy's national park. CONANP publishes no US dollar amount, so any dollar figure you see anywhere is someone's own conversion rather than the official price. Children under 12, seniors, pensioners and people with disabilities are exempt with valid credentials at entry, students and teachers get 75 percent off, and national visitors plus foreign residents of Mexico get 50 percent off with official ID. The park is open daily 9:00 to 18:00, weather permitting, and access is by authorized boat operators only, about 25 km from Puerto Juarez, Punta Sam or Isla Mujeres.
The official listing on the CONANP protected areas site is the source for the peso figure and every exemption. It is worth reading once, because it also carries the rules that shape the fee conversation: movement inside the park is on marked trails with a mandatory guide, there is no accommodation on the island, and visits run through authorized operators. You cannot walk up and pay the 225 pesos yourself for an independent landing; the fee travels with the authorized-boat system.
This is where careful writing matters. Several listings on this site state their own on-site line, US$20 or US$10 per person, in dollars. Those are operator-stated lines, printed on the listing, paid on the day. They are not the CONANP fee and should not be described as equivalent to it, and we will not print a conversion or claim the two figures match. The tours can be compared by which fee line each states, and that is exactly what the next section does.
Because the fee question is really a budgeting question, it helps to look at a trip that states everything up front. The Beach Lunch Day by Exciting Travel Holidays, a 9-hour trip from $199 per person with hotel pickup across Cancun, Playa del Carmen and the Riviera Maya, lists its US$20 federal marina and national park fee as paid on the spot, in plain text, next to its lunch and itinerary. You can open the Beach Lunch Day, 9 Hours listing and read the fee line before you commit a dollar.
Which Isla Contoy Day Trips List An On-Site Fee?
Ten of the fourteen Isla Contoy day trip listings include an on-site fee, and they break down simply: nine charge US$20 per person, while the tenth, the Untouched Beach Day by Isla Fun Tours, lists US$10 per person instead. The remaining four listings print no separate on-site fee line at all. The other four, the Eco Adventure by Contoy Adventures, the Beach BBQ day by Bluecaribe Tours, the 10-Hour Nature Expedition by Pescado Adventures and the National Park, Optional Snorkel by Isla Fun Tours, state no fee amount, so ask the operator rather than guessing whether the fee is bundled into their ticket price. Meal coverage is the next cost question most travelers ask, and our guide to what Isla Contoy tours include for lunch spells out which listings feed you and which leave you buying food on the island.
This table is the whole answer in one place, drawn line by line from the listings:
| Listing | Operator | On-site fee line as stated |
|---|---|---|
| Snorkel Day, 8 Hours | Ocean Tours Mexico | US$20 per person, not in the booking price |
| Private 8-Hour Snorkel Day | Ocean Tours Mexico | US$20 per person, not in the booking price |
| Beach Lunch Day, 9 Hours | Exciting Travel Holidays | US$20 for marina and park fees, paid on the spot |
| Combo Day, Snorkeling | Cancun Vacation Experts | Dock fee, National Park, US$20 per person |
| From Playa del Carmen, 6 Hours | Turismo Channel | Federal tax on arrival, US$20 per person |
| Sailing Catamaran, 7 Hours | Cancun Sailing Catamarans | Reef tax paid at check-in, US$20 per person |
| Nauticos Catamaran, 10 Hours | Nauticos del Caribe | Dock tax US$20 per person at the marina |
| Open Vacations Catamaran, 10 Hours | Open Vacations | Dock tax US$20 per person in the marina |
| Snorkel Trip, 6 Hours | Contoy Adventours | Adult and child dock tax, US$20 per person |
| Untouched Beach Day | Isla Fun Tours | Environmental tax and dock use, US$10 cash per person |
| Eco Adventure, 8 Hours | Contoy Adventures | All fees and taxes excluded, no amount stated |
| Beach BBQ, 9 Hours | Bluecaribe Tours | Fee not stated in the listing |
| 10-Hour Nature Expedition | Pescado Adventures | Fee not stated in the listing |
| National Park, Optional Snorkel | Isla Fun Tours | Fee not stated in the listing |

Read the wording closely and you notice operators do not even agree on what to call it. Government fee, dock tax, reef tax, federal tax, environmental tax: the names differ, the amount is nearly always US$20, and the Untouched Beach Day from Isla Mujeres is the outlier at US$10 in cash, which its listing ties to environmental tax and dock use specifically. None of these lines claim to be the CONANP fee, and this article will not make that claim for them either.
The most-reviewed trip makes the structure easy to see. The Snorkel Day, 8 Hours by Ocean Tours Mexico, 4.8 from 829 reviews, from $179 per person for an 8-hour day with hotel pickup from Playa del Carmen, prints "Government Fees (US$20 per person)" in its exclusions column, right beside gratuities. That is the opposite of hidden: the fee is stated on the listing before you book, and the price you see at checkout is the price before that line.
If you are already thinking about cash and what else crosses the dock with it, the guide on what to pack for the boat day covers the cash, clothing and gear side, including the no-sunscreen rule that catches many visitors off guard.
Why Do Some Listings Say Nothing About A Fee?
Four listings, the Eco Adventure, the Beach BBQ day, the 10-Hour Nature Expedition and the Isla Fun Tours National Park, Optional Snorkel, carry no fee line in their listing text, and none of them says whether a fee is included or collected separately. A missing line is not a promise of inclusion. It means the operator did not write it into that listing, and the right move is to ask the operator directly before the day, not to assume either way.
There is a practical pattern behind the silence worth understanding. Operators reprice and reword listings on their own cycles, and fee lines move in and out of listing text as operators absorb costs, pass them on, or simply fail to mention them. The Isla Contoy Eco Adventure by Contoy Adventures is a good example of a listing whose price note energy goes elsewhere: from $140 per person for an 8-hour day from its own private marina at Punta Sam, with roundtrip transport from most Cancun and Playa del Carmen hotels, sterilized snorkel gear, buffet lunch and an open bar listed, and its exclusions column reads simply "All Fees and Taxes," with no dollar figure attached.
That tour is also the cheapest full-inclusion-style day with an open bar, which is exactly why the missing fee line matters to a budget comparison. Its rating is 4.3 from 209 reviews. The listing describes two and a half hours on Contoy with a certified guide, a 30-minute Ixlache reef snorkel stop weather permitting, and an hour in downtown Isla Mujeres with an optional walk to Playa Norte.
Contrast that with the two listings that state a different kind of extra: the Beach BBQ day by Bluecaribe Tours, from $141 per person, states a further final balance of US$60 per person, and the 10-Hour Nature Expedition by Pescado Adventures, from $139 per person, states a second final payment of US$60 or 1,200 Mexican pesos per person. Those are operator payment structures, stated on the listing, and they belong in any cost comparison alongside the fee lines. None of this is fine print designed to trap you; it is simply that no two listings organize their money the same way.
How Much Should You Budget Beyond The Ticket Price?
Plan on the ticket price plus a US$20 per person cash fee on the nine listings that state one, US$10 on the Untouched Beach Day, and the two US$60 final-balance lines where the listing states them, plus transport surcharges on one Cancun departure. The shared days run from $136 per person to $199 per person, the private speedboat charter runs from $840 per group, and the on-site lines stack on top of whichever ticket you choose.
Here is the budget view across the tours, quoting each listing's price exactly as it is stated, notes included:
| Listing | Stated price | Extra cost lines stated on the listing |
|---|---|---|
| National Park, Optional Snorkel | from $136 per person | Fee not stated |
| 10-Hour Nature Expedition | from $139 per person | US$60 second final payment |
| Sailing Catamaran, 7 Hours | from $139 per person | Reef tax US$20; transport not included |
| Untouched Beach Day | from $139 per person | US$10 cash tax, payable tour day |
| Beach BBQ, 9 Hours | from $141 per person | Final balance $60 per person |
| Eco Adventure, 8 Hours | from $140 per person | All fees and taxes excluded, no amount stated |
| Nauticos Catamaran, 10 Hours | from $153 per person | Dock tax US$20 |
| Open Vacations Catamaran, 10 Hours | from $155 per person | Dock tax US$20 |
| Combo Day, Snorkeling | from $163 per person | Dock fee US$20; Playa transport $10, Riviera Maya $20, cash |
| Snorkel Trip, 6 Hours | from $166 per person | Dock tax US$20 |
| From Playa del Carmen, 6 Hours | from $169 per person | Federal tax US$20 |
| Snorkel Day, 8 Hours | from $179 per person | Government fee US$20 |
| Beach Lunch Day, 9 Hours | from $199 per person | Marina and park fees $20 on the spot |
| Private 8-Hour Snorkel Day | from $840 per group | Government fee US$20 per person on top |

Three patterns jump out. First, the fee is not a luxury-trip phenomenon: the US$20 line appears on the cheapest catamaran days and the premium days alike, and the single US$10 line sits on an Isla Mujeres departure. Second, the "final balance" listings are their own category, and their ticket price is best read as a deposit plus a stated balance rather than a fee question. Third, one listing, the Combo Day by Cancun Vacation Experts from $163 per person, carries both the US$20 dock fee and cash transport surcharges of $10 from Playa del Carmen or $20 from the Riviera Maya, so a Riviera Maya guest is really looking at a materially different all-in number than the headline suggests. To see how these add-ons stack up across the cheapest listings, our breakdown of budget-friendly Isla Contoy trips shows which low prices stay low and where the extras quietly pile on.
Gratuities sit outside all of this. Nearly every listing names tips in its exclusions, and no tour states an amount, so the standard reading is that a cash tip for the crew is a separate decision. The private charter from $840 per group deserves a special note too: its listing states no group size, and its US$20 per person fee means the fee total scales with your headcount, not your group price.
Does The Official Fee Ever Get Reduced Or Waived?
Yes, and this is where reading CONANP's own rules pays off: children under 12, seniors, pensioners and people with disabilities are exempt from the MXN 225 fee with valid credentials, students and teachers pay 75 percent less, and Mexican nationals and foreign residents of Mexico pay 50 percent less with official ID. Those concessions apply to the official park fee, and the practical question for a visitor is how they interact with an operator's flat US$20 line, which the listings state per person without category distinctions.
There is no per-category fee relief on the operator lines. The Snorkel Trip by Contoy Adventours, for instance, states its dock tax as "Adult Dock Tax" and "Child tax dock" at the same US$20 per person, so children are not excused on that line even though the official park fee exempts under-12s. Whether an operator passes a CONANP concession through its own collection is a question for the operator, and it is a fair one to ask before booking if someone in your party qualifies.
The discount structure also explains a quiet pricing reality: the effective entry cost for a Mexican family and a foreign family on the same boat can differ at the official layer, and the sanctuary's published management program is the document behind the park's carrying capacity and public-use rules, including the 202-person daily count. None of that changes what you hand over at a marina desk; it changes what the park itself charges, which is why keeping the two fees separate in your head is the single most useful thing this article can teach.
What Should You Do On The Morning Of The Trip?
Carry cash, roughly US$20 per person beyond your ticket on the listings that state the fee line, ask the operator directly when the listing states none, and keep credentials handy if anyone in your party qualifies for an official exemption or discount. Check-ins on the no-pickup listings run early, the sailing catamaran day checks in from 9:30 for a 10:00 departure and the Isla Mujeres office trip meets at 8:30, so the cash question is settled on the dock in the morning, not mid-boat.
Weather is the other morning variable, and it interacts with the fee conversation in one specific way: operators state their own weather policies, commonly a different date or a full refund when weather cancels the whole trip, while a skipped snorkel stop or a missed Isla Mujeres leg is treated differently on the catamaran listings, which say those changes alone are not grounds for a refund. CONANP recommends the park year-round except January, when Norte winds make port openings unlikely, and the Port Captaincy decides departures. None of that touches the fee amount, but it explains why the fee is collected on the day rather than folded into every online checkout.
If your planning style is to compare the whole landscape of options first, the guide on how to get to Isla Contoy lays out the departure points, and the trio below covers the three listings that best represent the fee spectrum this article has walked through: a premium day with the fee stated up front, the most-reviewed trip with the same clear line, and the cheapest all-inclusive-style day whose listing states no fee at all. Isla Contoy Tours keeps all 14 listings with each fee line quoted verbatim, so the comparison never has to rely on memory.
Common Questions About Isla Contoy Entrance Fees
What Is The Official CONANP Fee For Isla Contoy?
MXN 225 per person per day. CONANP publishes no US dollar figure, so any dollar amount attached to the official fee is a conversion, not the official price. Children under 12, seniors, pensioners and people with disabilities are exempt with valid credentials, students and teachers get 75 percent off, and Mexican nationals and foreign residents get 50 percent off.
Is The US$20 Fee The Same As The Park Entrance Fee?
The US$20 lines on the listings are operator-stated government, dock or reef fees, quoted in dollars and paid on the day. They are not described by the listings as the CONANP fee, and the two figures should not be reconciled or converted here. Treat the US$20 as the on-site cost your listing states.
Which Tours Do Not List Any Fee?
Four listings state no fee line: the Eco Adventure by Contoy Adventures, the Beach BBQ day by Bluecaribe Tours, the 10-Hour Nature Expedition by Pescado Adventures, and the National Park, Optional Snorkel by Isla Fun Tours. It is unclear whether a fee is included, so ask the operator before the day.
Can I Pay The Fee By Card?
The listings do not state a card option for the on-site lines. The Untouched Beach Day states its $10 tax is payable in cash the day of the tour, and the general guidance across operators is to carry cash for fee lines, surcharges and tips.
Do Children Pay The Fee?
On the operator lines, the Snorkel Trip listing states both an adult and a child dock tax at US$20 per person, so children are not exempt on that line. At the official layer, CONANP exempts children under 12 from the MXN 225 fee with valid credentials. The two layers answer the question differently.